17 MRT Stations to be Upgraded

News Releases 19 Oct 2015 station upgrade

Reconfigured station layouts create additional platform space
and more pleasant waiting experiences

1. Commuters’ waiting experience will be improved with the creation of additional space at the platforms of 17 North-South and East-West Lines stations by 2018. This will be achieved through a range of upgrading works, including covering some existing voids at platform level and reorganising the station furniture.

2. The reconfiguration of station space is part of ongoing upgrading works to spruce up our older MRT stations. It is also part of the Land Transport Authority’s (LTA) broader effort to upgrade the MRT system.

3. Mr Chew Men Leong, Chief Executive (LTA) said: “We are constantly looking at ways to upgrade existing stations even as we continue to build new MRT lines. Besides managing crowding at the platforms during peak hours, we are also looking to enhance our older MRT stations by creating up to 15% additional space at some of the stations to make public transport a more pleasant experience for all commuters. This is part of the overall rejuvenation of our rail network.”

4. Platform voids at 11 stations1 will be covered over to create more standing space, while space at the other six stations2 will be freed up by repositioning the seats at the platforms. In addition, more seats will be provided for commuters waiting for trains.

5. Works are expected to commence in mid-2016, with the majority being carried out during non-service hours to minimise inconvenience to commuters.

Annex A: List of 17 MRT stations to be upgraded
Annex B: Artist’s impression of upgraded MRT station platforms


Annex A

List of 17 MRT stations to be Upgraded

1. Ang Mo Kio
2. Bishan
3. Boon Lay
4. Buona Vista
5. Choa Chu Kang
6. City Hall
7. Clementi
8. Eunos
9. Jurong East
10. Khatib
11. Lakeside
12. Raffles Place
13. Pasir Ris
14. Pioneer
15. Tampines
16. Tanjong Pagar
17. Yishun


[1] The 11 stations are Ang Mo Kio, Boon Lay, Choa Chu Kang, Clementi, Eunos, Khatib, Lakeside, Pasir Ris, Pioneer, Tampines and Yishun.
[2] The six stations are Bishan, Buona Vista, City Hall, Jurong East, Raffles Place and Tanjong Pagar

Scroll To Top

Welcome to


This quick tour will bring you through the key enhancements.

Use the links at the top navigation bar to help you find what you are looking for

Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu

Jump straight into the popular pages that

are most relevant to you

Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources

Taking a bus, train, or cycling to your

destination? Plan your routes and check

the fares using these tools!

Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools

Our latest featured projects are just a click away!

Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects

Start exploring


Explore Now!