Joo Koon Integrated Transport Hub Opens on 21 November 2015

News Releases 21 Oct 2015 Integrated Transport Hub (ITH)

1.  The new Joo Koon Integrated Transport Hub (ITH) will begin operations on Saturday, 21 November 2015. Commuters who live or work in the Jurong and Tuas areas can look forward to enhanced connectivity between the bus interchange and Joo Koon MRT Station and seamless transfers in air-conditioned comfort. The hub will bring added convenience to commuters, who can run errands and shop at the Fairprice Hub as part of their bus or train journeys.

2.  To minimise inconvenience to commuters, bus operations will be implemented in three phases, over a period of four weeks, starting with the first tranche on 21 November, the second tranche a week later on 28 November and the last tranche on 12 December 2015.

Overview of Bus Routes

3.  The Joo Koon ITH will be served by eight bus services[1]. To enhance the connectivity of the Jurong West area and Jurong/Tuas Industrial Estate, the following bus routes will be adjusted:

  • New Services 253, 256 and 258
  • Extension of Service 99 to operate between Clementi and Joo Koon ITHs
  • Amendment to Services 192, 193, 194 and 251
  • Relocation of Services 182/182M, 254, 255 and 257 from Boon Lay to Joo Koon ITH

Summary of changes to bus routes


21 Nov

28 Nov

12 Dec

New Service

Introduction of new Service 258 between Boon Lay and Joo Koon ITHs

Introduction of new Service 256 between Boon Lay and Joo Koon ITHs

Introduction of new loop Service 253 from Joo Koon ITH to serve the Benoi area

Extended Service

Extension of Service 99 from Jurong West Street 91 to Joo Koon ITH



Amended Service


Amendment to Services 192 & 193

Amendment to Services 194 & 251

Relocated Service


Relocation of Services 182/182M & 257 from Boon Lay to Joo Koon ITH

Relocation of Services 254 & 255 from Boon Lay to Joo Koon ITH

4.  Services 182/182M and 257 will be relocated to Joo Koon ITH on 28 November 2015, while Services 254 and 255 will move two weeks later, on 12 December 2015. The relocation of these four bus services from Boon Lay to Joo Koon will reduce the number of buses calling at Boon Lay interchange and improve bus and commuter flow. The shorter routes will also improve the service reliability.

5.  LTA had designed the new and amended bus routes after extensive consultation with the Advisers and grassroots leaders in the Jurong West community and with companies in the Jurong Industrial Estate.

6.  Information on the new, extended, amended or relocated bus services will be available at all affected bus stops, interchanges, and on buses, as well as online at LTA’s website and SBS Transit’s website There will also be banners at Boon Lay and Joo Koon MRT stations to inform commuters of the opening of Joo Koon ITH. Separately, commuters can also approach SBS Transit staff at the affected bus interchanges for assistance. Customised travel advisories at selected bus stops will also be put up to guide commuters on the alternative travel options from these specific bus stops.

Commuter-Friendly Facilities

7.  Equipped with barrier-free facilities, the Joo Koon ITH will have dedicated boarding points and graduated kerb edges to facilitate boarding of passengers in wheelchair.

8.  The design of the concourse area has been enhanced to feature priority queues with seats for the elderly and disabled. This is part of LTA's efforts to create a more senior-friendly public transport system. The ITH will also feature 40 bicycle lots for commuters who cycle to the ITH from their home or workplace.

Integrated Transport Hubs

9.  Joo Koon ITH is the eighth ITH[2] where the bus interchange and MRT station are linked with adjoining commercial developments. Bukit Panjang and Yishun ITHs are currently under construction, in tandem with development in the areas. Bukit Panjang ITH is scheduled to be completed in 2017 and Yishun ITH by 2019.

Annex A: Overview Posters for new, extended, amended and relocated bus routes

[1] The eight bus services are: 99, 182/182M, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257 and 258.

[2] The seven existing ITHs are at Toa Payoh (2002), Sengkang (2003), Ang Mo Kio (2007), Boon Lay (2009), Serangoon (2011), Clementi (2011) and Bedok (2014).


Scroll To Top

Welcome to


This quick tour will bring you through the key enhancements.

Use the links at the top navigation bar to help you find what you are looking for

Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu

Jump straight into the popular pages that

are most relevant to you

Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources

Taking a bus, train, or cycling to your

destination? Plan your routes and check

the fares using these tools!

Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools

Our latest featured projects are just a click away!

Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects

Start exploring


Explore Now!