Free Pre-Peak Travel Extended Until 30 June 2016

News Releases 26 May 2015 free travel

1.   The Land Transport Authority (LTA) is extending Free Pre-Peak Travel on the rail network by another year to 30 June 2016. Commuters who end their journey before 7.45am on weekdays at 18 designated MRT stations[1] in the city area will continue to enjoy free travel on the rail network. Commuters who exit at these stations between 7.45am and 8am will also continue to enjoy a discount of up to 50 cents off their train fare.

Sustained reduction of peak hour ridership with Free Pre-peak Travel

2.   Since the introduction of Free Pre-Peak Travel in June 2013, there has been a sustained reduction of 7 to 8% in the number of commuters during the morning peak period. The ratio of morning peak (8am to 9am) to pre-peak (7am to 8am) travel (based on commuters exiting from the designated stations) has fallen from 2.7 and stabilised at 2.1, resulting in a more evenly distributed morning rail ridership.

3.   Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Transport Mrs Josephine Teo said, “The proportion of commuters who have shifted their travel patterns due to the Free Pre-peak Travel scheme is significant and has stabilised after two years. The scheme is an important foundation on which we can build on for our other travel demand management efforts, which includes our Travel Smart Programme, Travel Smart Rewards and the new Off-Peak Pass[2] that we are introducing in July this year. We hope that more people, who are able and willing to shift their travelling times, will benefit.”

4.   To enable more commuters to benefit from flexi-travel and shift to off-peak travel, LTA had also launched the Travel Smart Network in July 2014 to encourage more companies to create supportive environments for their employees. There has been strong support from organisations so far, with more than 50 organisations, employing more than 120,000 employees, enrolled in the Travel Smart Network[3]. More details will be shared at Travel Smart Day in July this year.

[1] The 18 designated stations are Bayfront, Bras Basah, Bugis, Chinatown, City Hall, Clarke Quay, Dhoby Ghaut, Downtown, Esplanade, Lavender, Marina Bay, Orchard, Outram Park, Promenade, Raffles Place, Somerset, Tanjong Pagar and Telok Ayer.

[2] With the Off-Peak Pass, commuters can enjoy unlimited rides on the public transport network every day, except the peak hours of 6.30am – 9am and 5pm – 7.30pm on weekdays. Monthly passes for adult Singapore citizens and Permanent Residents are at $120, while those for Persons with Disabilities and senior citizens are at $60.

[3] Companies who are interested to join the Travel Smart Network can visit or email for more details. 


Scroll To Top

Welcome to


This quick tour will bring you through the key enhancements.

Use the links at the top navigation bar to help you find what you are looking for

Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu

Jump straight into the popular pages that

are most relevant to you

Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources

Taking a bus, train, or cycling to your

destination? Plan your routes and check

the fares using these tools!

Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools

Our latest featured projects are just a click away!

Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects

Start exploring


Explore Now!