Station Naming Exercise


The Land Transport Authority (LTA) is inviting members of the public to vote for their preferred MRT station names for the three MRT stations of Circle Line 6 (CCL6).

Between 15 May 2017 and 18 June 2017, LTA invited members of the public to suggest names for the three MRT stations with working names as listed below as part of our station naming exercise.

1. Keppel*

2. Cantonment*

3. Prince Edward*

*current working names

This station naming exercise provides an opportunity for members of the public to play an active role in the naming process for these MRT stations.

The suggested MRT Station Names have since gone through a rigorous evaluation process by both LTA and the Street and Building Names Board (SBNB). Eventually, three names were shortlisted for each station.

The shortlisted station names were selected based on the following four key criteria required by SBNB:

(i) easy identification of the location of the station;

(ii) illustrates the history and heritage of the station’s location;

(iii) reflects Singapore’s multi-racial and multi-cultural identity; and

(iv) must not be named after public structures, or commercial and residential developments.

LTA is now inviting the members of the public to vote for their preferred MRT Station Name from the selected names shortlisted for the three stations of CCL6. Each person can either vote for one, two or all the three stations in this exercise. Each person is allowed one entry to cast their votes.

This polling exercise will be carried out from 10 November 2017 to 10 December 2017. The public can vote online here.

On completion of the polling exercise, LTA will collate the voting results before sending the names to SBNB for final approval.


Frequently Asked Questions

Have a question on the CCL6 station naming exercise? Read the FAQs here.