Land Transport Authority

To be completed by 2017 in 3 stages, the Downtown Line (DTL) will connect the north-western and eastern regions of Singapore to the CBD and Marina Bay.

DTL Stage 1: Connecting the City

Fancy some dim sum in Chinatown before getting in some shopping at Bugis? One train takes you there, no hassle, no fuss. No need to change trains, the first stage of the Downtown line connects Chinatown to Bugis directly.

Opened on 22 December 2013
Stations: 6
Interchanges: Bugis, Promenade, Bayfront, Chinatown

Bugis – Promenade – Bayfront – Downtown – Telok Ayer - Chinatown

DTL Stage 2: Bukit Timah Gets On Board

From the Bukit Panjang heartland through the ‘school district’ and food enclaves of Bukit Timah, Stage 2 of the Downtown Line improves connectivity for the community in the north-western region of Singapore and saves travel time by up to 30%.

DTL2 will comprise 12 stops connecting Bukit Panjang to Bugis.

Opening on 27 December 2015
Length: 16.6km
Stations: 12
Interchanges: Bukit Panjang, Botanic Gardens, Newton, Little India

Bukit Panjang – Cashew – Hillview – Beauty World – King Albert Park – Sixth Avenue – Tan Kah Kee – Botanic Gardens – Stevens – Newton –Little India – Rochor

DTL Stage 3: Journey to the east

The journey to the east just got easier – just hop on the train!

Commuters going to the industrial areas of Ubi and Kaki Bukit have the option of breezing there by train, while others can get to the Tampines Regional Centre and Changi Business Park with fewer transfers.

A more direct route means you can travel to Kaki Bukit from Tampines in just 10 minutes instead of 25 minutes by bus.

Estimated date of completion: 2017
Length: 21km
Stations: 16
Interchanges: MacPherson, Tampines, Expo

Fort Canning – Bencoolen – Jalan Besar – Bendemeer – Geylang Bahru – Mattar – MacPherson – Ubi – Kaki Bukit – Bedok North – Bedok Reservoir – Tampines West – Tampines – Tampines East – Upper Changi - Expo