North-South Line


The North-South Line: Singapore’s first MRT line

Our extensive MRT system today begun with only five stations on the North-South Line (NSL) connecting Yio Chu Kang to Toa Payoh in 1987. Though it started small, NSL was the first step in Singapore’s grand vision of an integrated transport system.

Toa Payoh MRT station platform

The 27 stations along the 45km line serves a large number of mature residential estates and takes commuters from Jurong East to Marina South Pier.

Along its route are eight interchanges that connect the NSL to the East-West Line (EWL), Circle Line (CCL), Downtown Line, North East Line (NEL) and Bukit Panjang LRT.

Length of rail line icon

Length of rail

No. of stations icon

Number of stations

Number of interchanges icon

Number of interchanges

In 2014, NSL was extended by 1km beyond Marina Bay MRT station to include Marina South Pier MRT station. This station will serve the Marina Bay Cruise Centre, Marina South Pier, as well as future developments in the Marina Bay Downtown area.

In 2019, Canberra MRT station was added between Yishun and Sembawang MRT stations in anticipation of future developments in northern Singapore.

Did you know icon

To increase capacity, Jurong East MRT station was retrofitted with two new platforms in 2012. This allows two trains to enter and depart the station at the same time.

System renewal works to NSL as well as EWL are underway to improve reliability and raise capacity. From now till early 2020, improvements will be made to all six core systems. These include:

  • Replacing 188 Sleepers on NS and EW Lines.
  • 66 new trains will be brought in to replace the first generation trains progressively.

40 new trains will also be brought in to replace the second and third generation trains. 

Canberra MRT station caplet
Opened in 2019, Canberra MRT station is a new stop on the NSL and it serves commuters living in nearby estates such as Sembawang Springs, as well as an upcoming mix of public and private residential developments in the neighbourhood. Five entrances are included in the station’s design to better facilitate commuter movements and enhance connectivity. In additon, there is also an elevated link bridge for commuters to directly access the city-bound train platform.
Toa Payoh MRT station caplet
Characterised by its cheerful bright yellow interior, one easily recognises Toa Payoh MRT station as the train pulls into the station Sunlight shines through a circular skylight and lights the interior in warm hues, visually connecting commuters to the changing environment outside.
Dhoby Ghaut MRT station caplet
Interior of Dhoby Ghaut MRT station

Dhoby Ghaut MRT station opened in December 1987 and evolved from a single-line station into Singapore’s first three-line interchange with NEL and CCL. Wayfinding is important so that commuters can navigate quickly and easily, especially with crowds moving around the three lines and station’s multiple exits that serves the neighbouring buildings. Apart from signages, artwork is also designed with wayfinding in mind, and placed strategically to orientate commuters towards the escalator areas.

Scroll To Top

Welcome to


This quick tour will bring you through the key enhancements.

Use the links at the top navigation bar to help you find what you are looking for

Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu Tutorial Menu

Jump straight into the popular pages that

are most relevant to you

Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources Tutorial Popular Resources

Taking a bus, train, or cycling to your

destination? Plan your routes and check

the fares using these tools!

Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools Tutorial Transport Tools

Our latest featured projects are just a click away!

Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects Tutorial Featured Projects

Start exploring


Explore Now!