East-West Line (EWL)

All 35 stations along the EWL from Tuas Link to Pasir Ris and from Tanah Merah to Changi Airport will close earlier on Fridays and Saturdays and open later on Saturdays and Sundays to facilitate maintenance and renewal works.


Sengkang-Punggol LRT (SPLRT)

Selected loop closure (one direction) on Sunday mornings on Sengkang LRT (8 & 22 April) and Punggol LRT (1, 15 & 29 April). Affected stations will have only one platform open for service from 5.30am. The other platform will open from 7am onwards.


Bukit Panjang LRT (BPLRT)

BPLRT will be closed full-day on 11 Sundays, from 15 April to 24 June 2018.

April Calendar of Closures



The shorter operation hours will double engineering and track access time for engineers to speed up the resignalling works on EWL, which will be completed 6 months earlier in June 2018, rather than in end-2018 as earlier scheduled. 

Commuters can look forward to shorter waiting times and increased capacity when these works are completed.

The selected loop closures on SPLRT will provide additional time for maintenance and replacement of the power rail, signalling-switch machines and cables, so that commuters can continue to enjoy reliable and comfortable rides.

The full Sunday closures on BPLRT will provide additional time for preventive maintenance of the ageing system, as well as other ongoing replacement works, to improve the level of service for commuters.



Shuttle bus services will be deployed along the EWL to provide an alternative means of transport for commuters during the affected periods.

Shuttles 1, 2, 3, 6, 7 and 8, will run parallel to stretches of the EWL and stop at designated pick-up and drop-off points near MRT stations along the way. These include interchange stations where commuters can continue their journeys on other operating MRT lines.

Two express bus services, Express 5 and Express 12, will provide commuters with direct connections to the city area.

Shuttle Service

Service Area

Service Interval

Shuttle 1

Between Buona Vista and Raffles Place (Both Bounds)

3-5 minutes (peak), and 5-10 minutes (off-peak)

Shuttle 2

Between Joo Koon and Buona Vista (Both Bounds)

Shuttle 3

Between Tuas Link and Joo Koon (Both Bounds)

Shuttle 6

Between Bugis and Paya Lebar (Both Bounds)

Shuttle 7

Between Paya Lebar and Pasir Ris (Both Bounds)

Shuttle 8

Between Tanah Merah and Changi Airport (Both Bounds)

Express 5

Between Boon Lay and Outram Park, with stops at Jurong East and Buona Vista (Both Bounds)

From Boon Lay: 5.15am & 5.30 am

From Outram Park:

6.15am & 6.30am

Express 12

Between Changi Airport Terminal 3 and Bugis (Both Bounds)

15-18 minutes


Two cross-line shuttles, Express 13 and Express 15, running at intervals of 20 – 25 minutes, will connect commuters between the EWL and Downtown Line (DTL):

1.    Express 13: Between Bedok and Bedok North (both bounds) for the eastern sector; and

2.    Express 15: Between Clementi and Beauty World (both bounds) for the western sector.

Shuttle bus services will be deployed along the BPLRT to provide an alternative means of transport for commuters during the affected Sundays. Commuters can also use new bus service, 974, to travel from BPLRT stations to Joo Koon MRT station.

Commuters are advised to plan your journeys in advance and travel via other MRT lines or bus services where possible.



Improvement Works to Enhance Reliability of LRT Systems