1990s to 2000s

Managing the Growth of our Vehicle Population



  • 67km of railway completed.
  • North-South and East-West MRT lines completed.
  • Vehicle Quota System (VQS) introduced bidding for COE.


  • TransitLink launches common stored value fare card for use on both bus and rail.
  • Central Expressway (CTE) became fully operational.


  • Off-Peak Car (OPC) scheme introduced.


  • Land Transport Authority (LTA) formed.
  • Road Pricing Scheme (RPS) starts along East Coast Parkway.


  • MRT extension to Woodlands opened for service.
  • Tampines Expressway completed.


  • Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) implemented.


  • LTA awarded North East Line (NEL) operating licence to SBS.
  • First Light Rapid Transit (LRT) in Singapore began operation in Bukit Panjang.


  • First appearance of TVMobile on buses.
  • Green Vehicle tax rebates introduced.


  • Contactless EZ-Link cards replaced magnetic fare cards.
  • Changi Airport MRT station commenced operations.
  • Singapore's 1st air-conditioned bus interchange opened at Toa Payoh.
  • 5 older MRT stations (Dhoby Ghaut, Outram Park, Somerset, Novena, Tampines) upgraded with disabled-friendly facilities.


  • North-East Line, Asia's first fully automated underground system opened.
  • Quality of Service (QoS) standards introduced for taxi companies.


  • The 10.3-km 15-station Punggol LRT opened, providing residents with quick access to NEL.


  • The first Wheelchair-Accessible Bus was launched in June 2006 to cater to people with commuters with special mobility needs. A total of nine Wheelchair-Accessible Bus services were launched.
  • The LTA Academy was established to share Singapore‚Äôs experience and expertise in land transport and to promote the research and exchange of best practices within the global land transport community.


  • KPE opened for use. 
  • Full Day Bus Lane Scheme launched.
  • LTA and Traffic Police win the prestigious Prince Michael Safety Award - Global Award for road safety.
  • Launch of the Fort Canning Tunnel.
  • Launch of the LTA Cares Fund to specifically cater to the transport needs of working adults and students who are financially and physically disadvantaged.


  • Launch of the Land Transport Masterplan, a roadmap to guide land transport development in Singapore over the next 15 years.
  • Introduction of Mandatory Give Way to Buses scheme to enhance effectiveness of bus priority measures.
  • Launch of PublicTransport@SG portal to provide comprehensive public transport information for commuters.
  • Opening of five Circle Line stations from Bartley to Marymount.


  • Launch of Revised Off-Peak Car (OPC) scheme which allows motorists to enjoy more perks such as unrestricted usage of OPCs on Saturdays and on the eve of five public holidays.
  • Opening of 11 Circle Line stations from Dhoby Ghaut to Paya Lebar.


  • LTA presented with the Edmund R. Ricker Transportation Safety Council Award (Organisation) in St. Louis, Missouri for its efforts in improving safety for road users in Singapore.
  • Circle Line reached full operation in October.
  • Launched electric vehicle test bed.
  • Completed Barrier Free Accessibility Enhancement
  • Construction started for Southeast Asia's First Ecological Corridor, Eco-Link@BKE to link two nature reserves across the expressway.


  • Platform screen doors installed on all aboveground MRT train platforms
  • The Bus Service Enhacement Programme (BSEP) was introduced in September
  • Opening of Bayfront and Marina Bay MRT Stations on the CCL extension


  • Opening of the 5km long Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE), Singapore's first undersea road tunnel
  • Opening of the first phase of the Downtown Line (DTL) on 22 December


  • New Bus Contracting Model introduced
  • Opening of Marina South Pier Station