DTL Late Opening

DTL late opening

From 14 May to 27 August 2017 (except 25 June), the Downtown Line (DTL) will operate from 7.30am onwards on Sunday.


Why is there a need to start Downtown Line (DTL) operations later on Sundays?

The late opening is to facilitate testing of the entire DTL as an integrated line, in preparation for the opening of the full DTL by end-2017. In addition to the usual three engineering hours per night to run tests, two more hours are required for these test runs as one full round-trip loop between Bukit Panjang and Expo stations will take about 2.5 hours. Beyond running test trains, additional time is also needed for preparatory works prior to commencement of each test, and readying the systems for passenger service.


What are the hours and duration of the late opening?

DTL service from Bukit Panjang to Chinatown will commence later, at 7.30am instead of the usual 5.50am, on Sunday mornings from 14 May 2017 to 27 August 2017, excluding the Hari Raya Puasa weekend.


What should I do if I need to travel before 7.30am on the DTL?

Please consider these alternatives.

DTL Late opening bus services

 DTL late opening Shuttle bus services


The shuttle bus service will run parallel to the DTL alignment and stops at each of the 18 DTL stations. Fares for this shuttle bus service will follow the DTL fare structure.

First Bus and Frequency of Downtown Line Shuttle Bus Service

Shuttle Bus Direction

First Bus

Bus Frequency (before 6.30am)

Bus Frequency (between 6.30am and 7.30am)

Bukit Panjang to Chinatown


10 mins 6 mins

Chinatown to Bukit Panjang


9 mins 9 mins


Fares for Downtown Line Shuttle Bus Service


Card Fares

Cash Fares


Follow DTL Fare Structure


Senior Citizen/PWD

Follow DTL Fare Structure



Follow DTL Fare Structure



What are the affected dates?

Affected dates are shown in the below table. The DTL will only open later on Sundays but excludes the Hari Raya Puasa Sunday which falls on 25 June.



May 2017

 14 May, 21 May, 28 May

June 2017

4 June, 11 June, 18 June

July 2017

2 July, 9 July, 16 July, 23 July, 30 July

August 2017

6 August, 13 August, 20 August, 27 August