North-South Line

What is the North-South Line?

The North-South Line is our first MRT line.

In 1987, the first section of the North-South line connecting Yio Chu Kang and Toa Payoh was opened. The rest of the system, including the East-West Line connecting Boon Lay to Pasir Ris was subsequently opened in stages.

In 2014, the North South Line was further extended by 1km after Marina Bay station, adding Marina South Pier station to the line. The Marina South Pier station will serve Marina Bay Cruise Centre Singapore, Marina South Pier, as well as future developments in the Marina Bay Downtown area. This station will benefit commuters, in particular, cruise passengers travelling to and from the cruise centre. 

In anticipation of future developments in Northern Singapore, Canberra station will be added between Yishun and Sembawang stations by 2019. 

Press Release: Marina South Pier to Open on 23 November
Press Release: LTA Awards Contracts for North-South Line Extension

Where is the North-South Line?

North-South Line Train System Map

(click to enlarge)

The North-South line is 45km long and has 26 stations from Jurong East to Marina South Pier. There are 8 interchanges that connect the line to the East-West Line, Circle Line, Downtown Line, North East Line and Bukit Panjang LRT.


new trains

New trains are arriving! To be precise, there are 57 new trains fitted with a new signalling system. They will be progressively added to the NSEWL fleet till 2019. Old trains will also be replaced. LTA has called a tender for 66 new trains to replace the first generation trains on the NSEWL that are about 30 years old. The new trains will have new features such as sensors to monitor track conditions.



Upgrading works on the signalling system for the NSL and the EWL will be completed by 2017 and 2018 respectively. Commuters can expect shorter waiting times as the upgraded signalling system allows trains to run in shorter intervals.