Silver Zones

Silver Zones have been introduced in selected residential areas to enhance road safety for the elderly. 

Gateway Treatment


Pinch Point

What are the Silver Zone features?

  • There will be ‘rest points’ for the elderly on the road divider, so they can cross the road in two stages.
  • Cars entering Silver Zones will see signs informing them that they are in the special zone, along with three rumble strips on the road, so they will slow down. Speed limits in Silver Zones will be reduced to 40kmh wherever possible.
  • Other traffic features aimed at slowing down traffic, like chicanes - gentle curves along sections of roads - and lanes with reduced width have also been installed to ensure that cars do not speed along these roads.

Eight Silver Zones—Bedok, Bukit Merah View, Jurong West Street 52, Lengkok Bahru, Marine Crescent, Tampines, Woodlands and Yishun—are completed.  There will be 50 Silver Zones by 2023. 

Read about the other features of a Silver Zone
Press Release: Safer Streets for Seniors at 50 Locations Island-Wide by End-2023
Press Release: Safer Streets for Seniors

Press Release: LTA to Build Ten New Silver Zones by Early 2017
Press Release: New Silver Zone Completed at Jurong West Street 52
Press Release: Seniors in Bukit Merah View First to Benefit from New Silver Zone
Press Release: Silver Zones to Make Roads Safer for the Elderly