Factsheet: 20 More Silver Zones to Enhance Road Safety by 2020

News Releases
7 Mar 2019

     In addition to ongoing works for 10 Silver Zones, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) will build another 10 Silver Zones, which are expected to be completed in 2020. Residential areas such as Ang Mo Kio, Potong Pasir, Tampines and Yishun will have enhanced and customised road safety features to remind motorists to slow down and keep a lookout for pedestrians, as well as remind elderly pedestrians to remain vigilant when crossing roads.

2.   The Silver Zone scheme was first announced at the Committee of Supply debate in 2014. Under this scheme, LTA implements senior-friendly road safety features at areas where there have been senior pedestrian accidents and at areas with a high proportion of senior residents and senior amenities such as medical establishments.

3.   Currently, LTA has completed 15 Silver Zones. LTA’s statistics show that the accident rates involving senior pedestrians within Silver Zones have been reduced by almost 75%[1]. LTA intends to implement a total of 50 Silver Zones in residential estates by 2023. Silver Zone locations and implementation schedules are listed in the Annex.

[1] Accidents have decreased from 14 cases to 4 cases per year (on average) in the 15 completed Silver Zones.