LTA Completes Barrier Free Accessibility Enhancement

News Releases
23 Oct 2011

More than 80% of MRT stations have at least two barrier free access routes

1. The Land Transport Authority (LTA) today marked the completion of Barrier Free Accessibility (BFA) enhancement works on the MRT network with the opening of two new lifts at Clarke Quay MRT station. With the completion of the BFA enhancement works, more than 80% of the existing 89 MRT stations (including the new Circle Line stations) now have two barrier free access routes.

2. Says LTA's Group Director, Rail (Thomson and Existing Lines), Chua Chong Kheng, "Today marks the culmination of LTA's efforts to make our public transport facilities accessible to one and all. The enhancement programme has improved the accessibility of our MRT stations and will benefit many Singaporeans and visitors who are less mobile, including those with young children."

3. In 2008, LTA embarked on an enhancement programme to further improve accessibility at existing MRT stations. 16 1 of these stations had lifts added and other BFA enhancements carried out on the existing infrastructure. Another 10 2 stations added BFA enhancements such as ramps, covered linkways and taxi stands with wheelchair access. All works were completed by July 2011 at a cost of $116 million.

4. In March this year, LTA also completed its $60 million island-wide Barrier Free Accessibility Programme. 95% of pedestrian walkways, access to MRT and LRT stations within 400m, taxi and bus shelters and all public roads are now barrier free and accessible to persons with disabilities such as the wheelchair-bound, visually impaired or the elderly.

More will be done to improve overall accessibility of public transport

5 In addition to these, LTA will be implementing other initiatives to make our infrastructure more user-friendly. Six 3 pedestrian overhead bridges next to MRT stations will be installed with lifts to improve barrier free accessibility to major transport nodes.

Annex - Barrier Free Access Enhancements

1 These are Braddell, Toa Payoh, Bedok, Ang Mo Kio, City Hall, Queenstown, Commonwealth, Clementi, Mountbatten, Dakota, Paya Lebar (CCL), Bartley, Lorong Chuan, Boon Keng, Kovan and Clarke Quay stations.

2 These are Marsiling, Admiralty, Chinese Garden, Sembawang, Khatib, Yio Chu Kang, Lavender, Kembangan, Tanah Merah and Simei stations

3 These are Pedestrian Overhead Bridges at Aljunied, Bishan, Khatib, Kranji, Sengkang and Yew Tee stations.